+377 97 77 01 66

On November 16, the gala finale of Maestro Marcella Crudeli’s 31st International Piano Competition “Roma” was held in Rome. The Cuomo Foundation actively took part in the closing ceremony and presented the six top prizes to the winning finalists. The Cuomo Foundation has supported and fully funded this cultural event since 2004.

The renowned competition was started in 1990 by the Fryderyk Chopin Association, whose founder and artistic director is Maestro Marcella Crudeli. Over 91 classical musicians from over 14 nations, including Russia, China, Italy, and Belarus, gathered for two weeks in the majestic Cloister of the Genovesi, which was built in the 15th century.

For ten days, the president of the Jury and its nine expert members collaborated to analyse the contestants using a structured and methodical process to determine the top pianists. The members of the Jury were: Maestro Marcella Crudeli, President of the Jury, Salvatore Barbatano (Ita), Maria Teresa Carunchio (Arg-Ita), Luigi Fracasso (Ita), Pawel Gorajski (Pol), Cinzia Pennesi (Ita), Franco Carlo Ricci (Ita), Marco Sollini (Ita), Rosalba Vestini (Ita)and Marek Szlezer (Pol), former winner in 1993 of Young Emerging Pianists section.

The six categories in which the young pianists participated and competed in were as follows: Young Emerging Pianists born after 1997, Young Pianists born after 2003, 4 Hands Duo Section, 2 Piano Duo Section, 2nd Chopin Prize and finally 1st Chopin Prize.

The gala finale evening was held at the Palladium Theatre of Roma Tre University with a concert performance and award ceremony to conclude the 31st Piano Competition “Roma.” Maestro Pawel Gorajski conducted the two finalists in front of a large audience of about 400 people. The Cuomo Foundation, represented by Mr Peter Hungerbuhler and Mrs Nina Orenga de Gaffory Orsini, presented all six top prizes including the first Chopin Prize to Belarusian winner Denis Linnik (born 1995) for his interpretation of Frédéric Chopin’s Concerto No. 2 in F minor, Op. 21. Vsevolod Brigida, a Russian pianist born in 1987, received the second Chopin Prize for his performance of the same concerto.


CHOPIN 22-Solo Finalist Section – First Prize
Denis LINNIK (BLR) born 1995

CHOPIN 22-Solo Finalist Section – Second Prize
Vsevolod BRIGIDA (RUS) born 1987

EMERGING PIANISTS 2022– Solo Section First Prize
Vera CECINO (ITA) born 2004

YOUNG PIANISTS 2022- Solo Section Absolute First Prize
Vito SAULLE (ITA) born 2006

DUO 4 HANDS 2022- Piano Four Hands Section Absolute First Prize
Gala CHISTIAKOVA (RUS) born 1987
Diego BENOCCI (ITA) born 1992

DUO 2 PIANOS 2022-Piano Duo Section First Prize
Wei SHI (CHN) born 1990
Rong SHI (CHN) born 1990

Related Articles

Share This